Vision

Okay, first of all, I feel the need to apologize to the 13 people or so who have actually been sweet enough (or gullible enough?) to keep checking my blog for new content nearly every day, despite the fact that I’ve been a terrible blogger AND I’ve begun my latest post with a horrific run-on sentence.

So…I’m sorry.

(feel better?)

I heard something in the car today – I just caught the end of a sort of public service ad/blurb on a talk radio show. It was (from what I could gather) from a football coach…possibly pro…not that it matters…who was talking about not letting things get in the way of your vision. I tuned in quickly and subconsciously, really, because I’ve had a few strange and somewhat ugly roadblocks lately; and I could relate.

His words were interesting – he was referring specifically to sports, but using that as an example for living and leadership. He said “Success draws criticism. It’s inevitable. The greater the influence you have, the more people will try to cut you down. But the key is not to let that change your game.”

I love that. Do what you know is right, and what you know you’re supposed to do. Don’t let the criticism of others take you from your vision…or steal your vision from you! It’s easy enough to get off track because someone else has a stronger, or louder vision, though it may be misguided, when you’re in a moment of weakness. It’s called a vision because you have to SEE it. (duh, right?) Don’t lose sight! Hang on with all you’ve got and don’t be swayed by naysayers who like to say nay. I say “Nay, naysayers!” If the vision is a God-breathed one, it will come to pass. But you have to hold on.

Habakkuk 2:1-3
1. I will stand my watch And set myself on the rampart, And watch to see what He will say to me, And what I will answer when I am corrected.
2. Then the Lord answered me and said: “Write the vision And make it plain on tablets, That he may run who reads it.
3. For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; Because it will surely come, It will not tarry.

Seems we could all learn a thing or two from a good football coach. (“Downs” still confuse me.)


About this entry