Sherbet

peach sherbet

Okay.  This feels weird.  But I promised my Twitter friend @sPARKLYsARAH I’d post the recipe for sherbet I made the other day.  Disclaimer: It’s not the one I tweeted on, exactly, because I didn’t have the moxy to substitute raspberries, strawberries and blackberries for the cranberries the recipe called for.  My full excuse is quite involved, but basically I had the feeling it wasn’t going to work, so I changed my mind.  But I’ll post both recipes: the cranberry sherbet recipe I intended to make and the peach sherbet recipe I did make.  Which was delish.

CREAMY PEACH SHERBET

2 cups frozen unsweetened sliced peaches, partially thawed

2 tablespoons orange juice concentrate (dessert spoons for the Brits? the big ones.)

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I think it’s what’s also known as a “dash”)

1 teaspoon vanilla (small spoonful)

2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 c. plain nonfat yogurt (199 ml/4 fl ozs. ? I’m trying, Sarah!  ha ha)

In a food processor or blender, chop the peaches. (Easier said than done.)  Add remaining ingredients; blend until creamy.  Serve immediately or freeze until serving time.

Yield: 4 servings.

CRANBERRY SHERBET

1 package (12 oz.) fresh or frozen cranberries

2-3/4 cups water, divided

2 cups sugar

1 envelope unflavored gelatin

1/2 cup orange juice

In a saucepan, combine cranberries and 2-1/2 cups of water.  Bring to a boil; cook gently until all the cranberries have popped, about 10 minutes.  Remove from the heat; cool slightly.  Press mixture through a sieve or food mill, reserving juice and discarding skins and seeds.  In another saucepan, combine cranberry juice and sugar; cook over medium heat until the sugar dissolves.  Remove from the heat and set aside.  Combine gelatin and remaining water, stir until softened.  Combine cranberry mixture, orange juice and gelatin; mix well.  Pour into a 2-qt. container; freeze for 4-5 hours or until mixture is slushy.  Remove from freezer; beat with an electric mixer until sherbet is a bright pink color.  Freeze until firm.  Yield: 6 cups.

Now to give credit where credit is due.  These recipes are from a cookbook my stepmom gave me for Christmas when Patrick and I were engaged in 1998.

Creamy Peach Sherbet

Janice MacLeod, Roanoke, Virginia

Cranberry Sherbet

Heather Clement, Indian River, Ontario

Taste of Home Low-Fat Country Cooking

Copyright 1997, Reiman Publications, L.P.


PS.  I did not take that lovely professional photo above.  But I WANT a set of those red bowls!!

About this entry