WorshipChicks: Women Leading Worship

I’ve been feeling for a while that I wanted to connect with other women worship leaders. It started as a vague sense that I could gather some thoughts and experiences from others who are also in my Jimmy Choos (I wish!), but eventually grew into something more.

I definitely believe in a biblical sisterhood, where we can all grow and learn from each other, as well as discover and achieve a greater purpose in the earth as the Church is mobilized and moved to make a real, positive impact. There is a place for women in ministry. And I know that God gives gifts to those He will – women included – and these gifts will make room for the recipients. In other words…if you’re a female worship leader, God has given you the gift, expects you to use it; and your gift – used prayerfully and zealously – will cause others to take notice. But you have to use it for good and not for evil. (Tongue in cheek, but truth.) We’re not after record deals or Fame & Fortune packages. We’re after real and God-designed INFLUENCE in the earth, and in our little corners of it.

I’m not using this forum to debate whether it’s biblical for a woman to lead worship…or to preach/teach/pastor/lead in any form in the church. If you know anything about our church or have followed my blog at all, you should already understand that our church has no problem with women in leadership. For one thing…there’s me. Then there’s our youth pastors – a married couple, whom God has clearly gifted for that position (both of them).  And there are plenty of others.

What I’m looking for is dialogue with and among women (and “friends of” women) who lead worship…#worshipchicks. Ma Girlz. Jesus-loco mic-wielding chicas.  I want to know what’s on your mind.  Why aren’t there more women in worship?  What difficulties do you face as a female worship leader?  Has your authority or “right” to lead been challenged, and how did you deal with it?  What the heck is up with all the cool fast songs being set in guy-keys?  (Sorry. Personal Peeve.)

Let’s start the discussion and see where it goes.  If the interest is there, I can set up a group blog we can use to discuss various topics, support and pray for each other, share ideas, make connections, and even vent, when needed.  😉  If it’s easier, we could do it as a Facebook group/page.  (Who needs one more social media site to deal with, right?)

Thoughts?

(Use Mr. Linky above to connect your blog topic to mine, so the discussion can continue and spread!)

About this entry