Sunday, June 7

We had a good worship time this week.  I definitely enjoyed it, personally.  I’ll be totally honest…I felt like we, as a team, were really entering in (and definitely some others as well), but I felt like the congregation was struggling.  Not all, but a lot of them.  And it wasn’t because they didn’t know the songs.  This week was a week of familiars.  I just think there were a lot of heavy burdens on people this week, and it was difficult for them to relinquish them and just focus their hearts on the goodness of God.

 

It’s an honest, human struggle…and I understand it…not in any way trying to brush it aside and say, “What’s the matter with you people?!”  But I do want to acknowledge it, and it’s a good reminder to all of us that we need to be determined.  We need to press in…and press through…seeking God’s face relentlessly.  This is the only path to victory.  As I was typing this, a scripture just flooded my thoughts…Philippians 3:10-14.  This is beautiful, and should cause a Yes deep in your heart, if you are a believer in Jesus:

10 that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death,11 if, by any means, I may attain to the resurrection from the dead. 12 Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13 Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

 

…We can never stop seeking him.  No matter where we are in the seasons of life, no matter what the days, the months and the years may bring…God is still God.  I find so often that we exalt the lesser things…the unimportant.  And life can cause problems to loom so largely in our sight that they crowd out what’s true and real.  A living relationship with our creator.  What an amazing thing.

 

BUT…even with all that (and probably because of all that), God moved tremendously.  At the end of the worship set, Pastor got up on the platform and we began to pray.  We prayed for those burdens on people’s hearts, he called up the prayer team, and we had a spontaneous altar call…and it was beautiful.  Faithful God.

 

The set:

 

Evermore (Hillsong) – G

Let Creation Sing (Hillsong) – D

Fairest Lord Jesus (Christy Nockels) – C-D

Revelation Song (Gateway Worship) – D

 

MEET & GREET: In Love with a Man (mine)

 

The first and last (fourth)  in the set are CITW staple songs.  Always well received, and always powerful.  Let Creation Sing was a bring-back song.  Haven’t done it in over a year, I’d say…probably closer to 2 years.  So it was fun to bring that one back in.  I love it.  Fairest is just a great song with a great arrangement.  And it works well for our team.  The modulation clinches it.  This is the second week in a row we’ve done that song, and it was great both weeks.

 

In Love with a Man (odd title, huh?) is just a bluesy vamp over the riff to American Woman (raddest, baddest riff ever).  I wrote it for our September recording.  I’ll get an mp3 up of it soon.  I’m not sure how to define soon, but it has something to do with “before the summer’s over”.  The lyrics are very, very simple (but that’s blues for ya):

 

I’m in love with a man

And his name is Jesus

You oughta know him

He’s the one that frees us

 

He’s the one can make the lame walk

He’s the one can make the blind see

He’s the one can make the deaf hear

And he’s here for you and me

 

…swamp-bluesy vocal acrobatics and electric guitar improvisations on wah and peds ensue.  It’s. FUN.

 

Team:

Tami Hoban – WL, vox, small percussion

De’Reen Vyleta – vox

Mike Ingham – keys, vox (and great exhortations this week!  Thanks!)

Jake Pena – acoustic, vox

Bill Fetter – electric

Don Reed – electric

Paul Wheatley – bass

Dennis Goeske – drums

 

Sunday Setlists

About this entry