Stepping Off the Cliff


Okay, so we’ve decided to homeschool our kids next year. I’m actually really excited about it. I wanted to homeschool from the time Liam was about 2. I had my heart set on it, my mind was made up, and it was inevitable. I thought, “This is THE way to school your kids. No other way will do. I can’t believe people would choose other ways…” blah blah blah.

Yep. I knew it all.

Then when Liam turned 4 and the time for school was looming near, we had a genuine, Spirit-breathed change of heart. We both suddenly knew that we should send the kids to a Christian school. I went online, found Trinity Oaks, where they currently go, and knew we were “home”.

It wasn’t until Sean started struggling with some aspects of school that I even considered the idea of homeschooling again. But as I started looking into it, out of necessity (for Sean’s sake, and because, let’s face it, private school’s not cheap), I started getting good vibes about it (so to speak). “Okay…okay…I can probably do this, if I HAVE to” turned into a genuine excitement and anticipation…and, ultimately, peace.

I have no personal experience with homeschooling. I’ve had innumerable friends and acquaintances who’ve had great success in it, and I know of only a handful who did not succeed. But I wasn’t homeschooled, and I’ve never had an opportunity to observe the daily schedule of a homeschool family. So I was freaking out a bit, to be honest.

What if I just don’t have the patience to do this?
How am I going to survive with the kids at home all day?
How are the boys going to react? They love school! They’ll miss their friends.
What about the social aspect?
Can I seriously presume to teach them all these things?

I told the boys last week. Know what their reaction was? SMILES. And non-stop excited questions. And as I’ve been researching it, all of my other questions have been answered to my satisfaction, too.

Homeschooling is a topic like Breastfeeding or Stay-at-Home vs. Working Moms. You’ve got strong opinions on both sides. I mean nearly-coming-to-blows kind of strong. You don’t want to get involved in an argument about any of those three topics (please make note). But Reason says that every family is unique, and what’s right for one family is not necessarily right for another.

So knock it off. *smile*

Just by way of disclaimer…I’m not a know-it-all anymore. I DO know that by the fruit I’ve seen produced by the local public schools, I know I don’t want to send my kids there. And by the fruit I’ve seen from my friends who homeschool, I feel confident that it can be a solid choice, if you’re willing to work at it a little.

The plan right now is to at least try it for a year. I still feel a little like I’m stepping off the cliff. It’s a whole new paradigm…like being thrust into a culture you’ve never known and having to learn the language without a tutor. But in sharp contrast to the time I tried to break into and learn the world (and “world” is the perfect word there) of cloth diapering, I’m starting to catch on, and even really feel like this is a good fit for me. Time will tell!

About this entry