DFIANT


Contrary to appearances, I’m not really fond of personalized license plates. You can ask Patrick why we have our last name emblazoned across ours, along with a seemingly (but not so) random number. But I can tell you now that I think it has more to do with not wanting to forget our license plate number when we need it, rather than an effort to be cute.

Anyway, I’ve seen some doozies…especially since coming to the suburbs of Chicago. It seems it’s really popular around here to have personalized plates. Once I saw a black dodge stealth with dark-tinted windows, a plate that read “STEALTH” and a bumper sticker that read “switching to missiles”.

…I wish I was kidding.

And today I saw the one pictured above. Usually they’re something like LV2FLY or CSJ RLJ or 2HOT4U (O BRTHER). But this one was probably the angriest one I’ve ever read. It simply read: DFIANT.

I know. Sheesh.

All I could think was that I just would not want to declare that over myself. “I’m DEFIANT. That’s me.” Why don’t you just skip right to SELFCTRD or BOUND or STIFFNCK. I mean, c’mon. Even people who don’t believe in the power of words and what speaking words of life or death, faith or unbelief, can do to you would find that a bit like a self-fulfilling prophecy.

It was a good reminder, that I know at least I need every now and again, to speak only words of life over myself and my family…and my enemies! Not empty words or curses, but blessings. Declaring life and only the best over them. God’s Words have dynamic power to create, to build up, to heal, to cure, to restore and to set right. I’d rather do that than tear down and destroy…even myself.

Galatians 6:7 Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap.
Proverbs 23:7 For as [a man] thinks in his heart, so is he.

About this entry