With All That's In Me


It was one of those days again. Niamh’s STILL not feeling well. The house is wrecked up. My racquetball partner didn’t show. The kids took literally hours to do their homework (and this time not because there was so much of it). I was cranky for seemingly no (good) reason. And I had a million things to do, all “urgent”.

I went to listen to new music we’ll be doing for Faith Week…a song called My Glory by Merchant Band. I decided that instead of “working”, I would just listen for a moment. Take a breath and just…listen. Before I could even get that very simple thought completely formulated, the chorus hit me like a freight train:

You are my glory, and the lifter of my head.
With all that’s in me, I love you
You’ve shown me mercy, and favor without end
With all that’s in me, I love you.

I started bawling, of course.

Even just reading it again now, I’m getting all weepy again. The Holy Spirit really touched me with those words. The message is simple and clear…not complicated. But the gospel is that way. The gospel is very simple. Very direct. Sort of like an arrow through the heart, or a 3-year-old’s explanation of how gravity works. And it was just what I needed to hear right now. It was just what I needed to refocus on the One who gave up his glory so that I could live in him..and with him forever.

You are my God
All my being is in You
You hold my heart
All I’m needing is in You
Because You live, now I’m alive
Because You rose, I’ll never die
You are my glory, and the lifter of my head.
With all that’s in me, I love you
You’ve shown me mercy, and favor without end
With all that’s in me, I love you.

I live to lift your Name
I breathe to sing your praise
I live to lift your Name, Jesus…

You’re the reason that I breathe
You’re the reason that I move
You’re the reason that I’m here, singing to You…

About this entry