Magic Kingdom

Here are some photos from Magic Kingdom – probably my favorite day at Disney. There were a few places I couldn’t get a decent photo.

For instance, we went on Pirates of the Caribbean (which now features Captain Jack Sparrow – very fun). It’s a boat ride with scenes set up along the way featuring automated pirates singing, swilling whiskey and dunking one another in barrels. Hokey, but vintage, and fun. Sean will likely never forgive me for getting him to go on that ride. There was a dark tunnel at the beginning with a small, but quick, drop. It really made it difficult to convince him to go on anything else the rest of the week! I tried so hard to get a decent shot of Captain Jack, but I couldn’t get the settings on my camera right, and he was a moving target.

We also went to the Tiki Tiki room. That was…weird. But fun. Automated birds hanging from the ceiling and singing songs. Another scary moment for Sean when the huge glow-in-the-dark “Tiki Goddess” appeared with booming voice and bad attitude. Again, Sean was not happy with his parents.

The Swiss Family Robinson tree house, the fake-animal boat safari complete with wise-cracking safari guide, the nighttime lights parade and fireworks/theatrical show. Tinkerbell soared on a cable down from the top of the castle. Sweet. I want that job. It was definitely like stepping into another world.

Here are a few shots from that day…

Cinderella and Prince Charming…

Oh my goodness…this girl who played Snow White had it DOWN. All her hand movements and expressions were perfect. The girl who played Cruella De’Vil, however, was a great disappointment. She had an air of haughtiness without the expected crazy look in her eye and wild hand movements. And not once did I see her gnash her teeth, like in the movie. Tsk tsk.


This is Main Street USA, still decorated for Christmas (we were there in early January)…

The marching band. My favorite is the guy who looks like he’s panting. I don’t blame him. It was pretty warm…

The boys at Cinderella Castle…

We rode the magic carpets. I knew there was something more to it than strings and pulleys! This was Niamh’s favorite ride…


See? She giggled the whole time. đŸ™‚

About this entry