Crepin it Real


A funny little story to brighten your day…

(WARNING: A POTENTIALLY OFFENSIVE, BUT UNINTENDED WORD KEEPS CREPING…ER…CROPPING UP…)

This morning I made crepes for the crew for breakfast. You probably know what they are, but just in case: they’re thin, pan-sized French pancakes, pronounced “kreps”.

So as we were making them for breakfast, Sean kept saying things like, “I like craps,” and “When will the craps be ready, Mom?” and “I’m gonna eat a lot of craps!”

And then, my favorite, as he was stirring the batter, “This is gonna turn into craps!!”

I was trying so hard not to laugh out loud. Tears were rolling down my face as I kept saying, “It’s ‘kreps’, Sean.”

OH! And also, someone who shall remain nameless (though, she and her husband know who they are!!!)…encouraged my children to use nature’s lavatory yesterday when it was quite inconvenient to get to an indoor facility; and I think my middle, somewhat gregarious, child likes nature’s way just a little too much. I’m going to have to watch vigilantly now for gleeful violations of public decency laws (nothing really new, I guess, for the boy). Ai me.

About this entry