The Heart

I realized, rather suddenly, as I was driving the other day that sometimes I THINK I’m really living by the Spirit and it’s actually (at least in some areas) just subdued fleshly living. For example, I used to get really mad when people did stupid things while driving (’cause, of course, I never do those things), and it really doesn’t bother me as much anymore. But sometimes when I’m overtired or already irritated because, say, there are three children all talking/whining/crying at once in the back seat…or…something of that nature…I still get really grumpy about crummy driving. I just don’t say, “C’mon!!” or “What is this guy DOING??” out loud anymore (much). I realized, also, that this could simply be because if I DO grumble about other motorists out loud, my 6- and 4-year-olds are SURE to pull me up on it. (Yay for them!)

So that has really been troubling me. I started thinking about all the areas where I have let my flesh dominate in some way. The Bible says that “the heart is deceitful above all things, and DESPERATELY WICKED. Who can know it?” I don’t for one moment believe that these “little things” that come up are merely coincidental. I know that God allows me to see them to get a small glimpse at the state of my heart.

It’s just like with our own children. We’re after their hearts. We don’t want them just to be good, polite citizens who keep their emotions in check, lest they appear to the world to be rude or divisive or something. We want them to have hearts of flesh that can feel…that can sense immediately when they’ve stepped out of the perfect will of God and that can truly feel compassion for people, as well as an unquenchable love and longing for Jesus.

That’s what God wants for me, too. So in the midst of day-to-day life, He will allow me to see these things so that I will turn my heart in His direction and allow Him to operate. I am not a great theologian. I don’t have anywhere near the information I’d like to have in my head. But I do know this…

God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

Sometimes I feel the need to bring it back to center and focus in once more on the simple truths of the gospel. This is what the world needs…and it’s what I need too.

About this entry