I Don't Love Sleep, I Just Strongly Approve of It

Okay, I’m just really tired. I’ve been trying to snap out of it most of the day. I feel like I could sleep for 16 hours straight right now with no trouble if it weren’t for the fact that my kids would not allow it. Boo-Boo Niamh decided to wake up early this morning (she usually has a very strict self-imposed routine of sleeping until 8:30 or so)…must’ve heard her daddy say, “Why don’t you sleep in today, Tami? I’ll bring Liam to school.” That was her cue.

It was my cue, too. “YAAAAAAY!” I said (…in my mind, because my lips were too tired to move and my brain-nerve-muscle connections were not functioning due to lack of SLEEP, NIAMH!!!!!!!) Ai ai ai. Sorry…had to get that out.

So, on cue, she woke up!! Just in time for me to see Patrick and Liam off and watch Seanie play a little DK64 before breakfast…okay, not really play…just go through the Mystery movies on the game menu. Over and over…and over…and over…

“Why don’t you go check on the ferrets, Sean?”

So I know the Bible says “Do not love sleep” and I’ve heard far too many people misquote this to mean something that it doesn’t. If it meant what they thought it meant, the Bible would probably also say, “…and don’t enjoy your food or have fun with friends and family…ever.” Read the passage in context:

Prov. 20:13 “Do not love sleep, lest you come to poverty; Open your eyes, and you will be satisfied with bread.” NKJV

Here’s The Message’s take on that text:

“Don’t be too fond of sleep; you’ll end up in the poorhouse. Wake up and get up; then there’ll be food on the table.”

Sounds to me like a warning against being a lazy bum. The truth of the matter is that God CREATED our bodies to require rest. Did you know that He designed us so that we would actually physically grow and renew in our sleep? Amazing creations, we are. (Yoda moment)

Oh, and God invented the vacation. Even He rested on the seventh day…and not only is He okay with you taking a break, He ordained it! We need to take care of these bodies we’ve been given…the physical vessels that contain the Holy Spirit and work out God’s plan for Him here on the earth.

So…I guess I’d better take my own nag, since it’s nearly midnight. Finally got my 40 minutes of kid-free, baby-free time, and I will now happily hit the hay.

I’m totally sleeping in tomorrow and I will feel absolutely no guilt…just peace, peace…

peace, 😉
t

About this entry